The King Prize

The King Prize has been running since 2012 and is a creative writing prize of £100 awarded for a short story between 750 and 1,000 words. Offered by Melanie and Ross King, it is open to to students from The Marlborough School in Woodstock, Oxfordshire, who in September 2018 will be in years 11, 12 and 13.

The closing date for entries was 4pm, Thursday 26th April 2018.

King Prize for Creative Writing – Winners Announced

Giselle Green


GISELLE GREEN will act as one of the judges. Giselle is a British novelist who grew up in Gibraltar. She has published several books: A Sister’s Gift; Falling For You; Finding You; Little Miracles; Pandora’s Box; and Dear Dad, which was shortlisted for the RNA Romantic Novel of the Year in 2017.



JANET PHILLIPS is our second judge. Janet has a special relationship with the Marlborough School in Woodstock as she attended the school between the ages of 11 and 16. Janet is now an editor at Bodleian Publishing, which is the publishing arm of University of Oxford’s famous Bodleian Library. She attended the University of Cambridge and has worked in the publishing world at Berg Fashion Library, The Poetry Society, the Society of London Theatre, and at Sweet & Maxwell before joining the team at the Bodleian.

Ross and Melanie will act as one judge.

Presentation of the King Prize is scheduled for school assembly in November 2018. The winner will be presented with a cheque for £100. All entries will appear in a school publication.


Past Judges:

Susin Nielsen, Canadian author of young adult fiction
Rachel Hore, British novelist

Prajwal Parajuly, Nepali/Indian novelist
Julie Summers, British non-fiction author